Contact the Author | sample_mail@mail.com

Reviews

MCA_Main Logo for websites - Logo_5in_150_png

Professional Literary Reviews

Red City Review

The Life and Times of Birdie Mae Hayes: Friends Forever by Jeri-Anne Agee is about an eight year old girl who lives in Rainbow, Alabama with her family. The narrative follows the adventures of Birdie Mae and her best friend Sally Rose Hope. Birdie Mae has the strange ability to predict when she thinks something bad is going to happen, and unfortunately for her, this feeling comes about on the first day of school when she begins the third grade. Even though her day back to school does not turn out how she intended it to be, with courage and perseverance, and the support of her best friend Sally Rose Hope, Birdie Mae learns that growing up is not always easy, but regardless of the struggles we all face, it is easier to get through the tough times when you have a friend at your side.

The book is divided into eleven short chapters, with black and white illustrations included to help accentuate the story. This would be a great book for middle grade readers as it is longer than the average picture book, but just short enough that it can be read quickly by children. It teaches valuable lessons about friendship and how standing up for yourself and those you care about can often have undesirable consequences. Agee blends in her love for the South into the narrative and creates a relatable character with Birdie Mae. This book could definitely be the beginning of an endearing series that children of various ages could enjoy with their parents, or by reading it on their own.


Individual Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful book for all ages! May 30, 2014 By Kimberly Davis

Read this book with my six year old twins and we could not stop laughing! We loved every minute of it! In between laughing my twins kept saying “Read it Mommy!!” The rotten cucumber was a huge hit! We love Birdie Mae Hayes and can’t wait for her next adventure!

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book! May 29, 2014 By Jennifer Havens

The characters are very relatable ! It’s funny, touching, and teaches a good lesson! Not only did my daughter read it, but I did as well and we love it! Can’t wait for the next book!

5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, May 23, 2014 By Angela Feyerabend

I read this adorable book with my two daughters and we all truly laughed out loud. Birdie Mae Hayes and her best friend Sally Rose have such a sweet friendship that girls both young and old can relate to. My girls both actually squealed, “It’s over?” at the end because they didn’t want the story to end. We look forward to reading more adventures of Birdie Mae and Sally Rose. These two are sure to be friends forever!

5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome! Parents will enjoy as much as the kids. May 30, 2014 By Joseph Carter

Great book! I may have enjoyed it more than my kids. My daughter loved it and carries it around with her and my two sons liked it just as much. It is very funny and well written. We are looking forward to the next one and hopefully, many more.

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!!! June 5, 2014 By James Andrews

What are great book for young children to read and learn the true value of friendship. We are looking forward to more books to come!

5.0 out of 5 stars Great tribute to friendship. June 4, 2014 By Laurie Reese

My girls and I loved this book! It’s a fun reminder about the importance of putting others first, and that bad days are better handled with a friend. I especially loved the southern flavor in Jeri-Anne’s style of writing. Birdie Mae Hayes is a hoot!!

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it! June 2, 2014 By Charla Smith

Great story with such a sweet message … take care of your friends! Reminded me of the Beverly Cleary books that got me hooked on reading as a child. My 10 year old loved it as well! Can’t wait for the next one!

5.0 out of 5 stars BFF’s Forever, May 30, 2014 By Julie F Frederick

I read this book out loud to myself and my rescue Maggie Mae. (I thought she would like to hear about Birdie Mae too) and I laughed out loud the whole way through. I think everyone can relate on some level to Birdie Mae and Sally Rose Hope because at some point in our lives, if we were lucky enough, we might have had a Birdie Mae connection too. Birdie Mae’s perspective is honest and true that you want to hear more from her and about her. The friendship between Birdie Mae and Sally Rose is absolutely destined for adventure and lifelong friendship. The story is honest, brave and lovable and I’m looking forward to going along with them on their adventures. Part 2 can’t get here soon enough …